Maintenance Reports 2013

 

 

Mon. Dec. 30

Jessica / Kamikaze – Ice storm cleanup (NO, JO, EO x 2.5h)

Thu. Dec. 26

Multi-Purpose Trail – Cutting and removing fallen trees (CK, ID x 3h)

Sun. Dec. 8

Andy’s BBQ Run / Rockin’ Ronnie – Changes planned and marked out (CD, ID x 2h)

Stinky Girl – Changes planned and marked out (ID x 2h)

Sun. Dec. 1

Bypass / Stinky Girl – 3 clusters of fallen trees two-man-saw cut and removed (CD, ID x 3h)

Rockin Ronnie – A cluster of fallen trees cut and removed (RO, CN x .75h)

Wed. Nov. 20

Jake’s Attack / Jake’s Breakaway / Dead Camel Bend / Scrambler – Cutting and removing fallen trees (NO x 2.5h)

Tue. Nov. 19

Twister / Jessica /Creepy Corner / Kamikaze – Cutting and removing fallen trees (RO, NO x 2.5h)

Mon. Nov, 18

Creepy Corner / Bootleg Trail / Adam’s Run / Sweet Street – Cutting and removing fallen trees (NO x 4h, CD, ID x 2.5h)

Sun. Nov. 3

Stinky Girl Hub – Sing posts punded in and signs posted for the new trailheads (CD, ID x 2h)

Sat. Nov. 2

Andy’s BBQ Run / Stinky Girl – Trail day; boardwalks delivered; the entrance of Stinky Girl rerouted and 12′ of boardwalk laid down; the Glasgow tool shed moved to a new location, Andy’s BBQ Run repaired from mud (SY, JF, QF, LSz, TB, JB, RT, SM, WA, AB, SH, SW, KM, CD, PK, NO, BE, JY, CD, PS, DS, GJ, JM, CG, SB, BC, SC, SB, IB, DD, DC, ID + 10 x 4h)

Glasgow Trailhead – BBQ Lunch for the volunteers (AC, LL x 2h)

Fri. Nov. 1

Stinky Girl – Prep work for the Trail Day (RH, ID x 4h)

Fri. Oct. 25

Bride/Bypass hub – Preparing the ground for the new shed location (RH, ID x 3h)

Andy’s BBW Run – Planing the trail repairs. (RH, DB, ID x 1.5h)

Andy’s BBQ Run – Preparation work for the trail change (DB, ID x 1.5h)

Tue. Oct. 22

Stinky Girl – Trail presentation to forest managers (RH, ID x 2h)

Sun. Oct. 20

Stinky Girl (lower end) – Filling mud holes with gravel (ID x 6.5h)

Sat. Oct. 19

Stinky Girl (lower end) – Filling mud holes with gravel (ID x 5.5h)

Fri. Oct. 18

Andy’s BBQ Run – 3 yards of gravel delivered (SK x 2h)

Thu. Oct 17

Stinky Girl – Trail change planning (GJ, RO, ID x 1.5h)

Wed. Oct. 16

Stinky Girl – Trail change planning (AH, DB, RG, AC,  ID x 1.5h)

Mon. Oct. 14

Bypass – Old berm repaired and improved (ID x 1h)

Bypass / Double Bypass – Filling mud holes with gravel (ID x 4h)

Sun. Oct. 13

Double Bypass (Beginning) – Big rock/dirt berm built (ID x 2.5h)

Bypass / Double Bypass – Filling mud holes with gravel (ID x 2.5h)

Fri. Oct. 11

Bypass – New berm built (ID x 2h)

Bypass – Filling mud holes with gravel (ID x 2h)

Sat. Oct. 5

Frankenstein – Finishing the yesterday’s project (ID x 4h)

Fri. Oct. 4

Frankenstein – Repair/reroute of the low section (by the lake) that got eroded from the fallen trees’s roots pulling away the trail (ID x 4h)

Mon. Sep 30

Jessica – An interfering weed-tree cut and removed from the trail (RO x 1.25h)

Sun. Sep. 29.

Two Trailheads – Cleaning, desiccant replacement, maintenance and count retrieval from the trail counters (MM x 1.5h)

Wed. Sep. 18

Sweet Street (the beginning) – A cluster of fallen tree two-man-saw cut and remove: a log pile created from the logs (RH, ID x 3h)

Mon. Sep. 16

Hydro corridor – Gravel loaded onto a truck and moved to 4 stashes for later use (SK, PS, CR, ID x 3.5h)

Rockin’ Ronnie (beside the railway) – Mud bog filled with a truckload of gravel (SK, PS, ID x .5h)

Sun. Sep. 15.

Kamikaze – A trip to a remove a fallen tree that turned out to be removed by someone else (BK, ID x .5h)

Sat. Sep. 14

Andy’s BBQ Run – Old culvert replaced and improved (RH, ID x 4h)

Wed. Sep. 11

Bypass – A cluster of fallen trees saw cut and removed (RO, ID x 2h)

Kaitlyn’s Switchbacks – Trail change planning (RO, ID x .5h)

Mon. Sep. 2

Stinky Girl (the first descent) – Blocked off and the corner against riders blowing it to the left side, and realigned the exit from the turn (ID x 1.5h)

Stinky Girl – Extended the berm after the gully bridge and eliminated the too tight chicane after it (ID x 2h)

Stinky Girl – Cut out erosion creation roots (ID x 1.5h)

Frankenstein – Added a rock to the final rock step to fill in a possible wheel trap (ID x 1 h)

Frankenstein – Rebuilt the broken rock step before the exit (ID, BA x 3h)

Mon. Aug. 26

Twister – Fallen log saw cut and removed (AH x .5 h)

Sweet Street – 3 fallen pines saw cut out of the way and made into log piles (RH x 1h)

Fri. Aug. 16

Stinky Girl / Back 40 – Saw cutting an removing 3 fallen trees (TB, JB, CR, JC, ID + 1 = 1 h)

Andy BBQ Run (the beginning) – A shortcut to the hydro corridor blocked off with big  tree trunks (TB, JB, CR, JC, ID + 1 = 1/2 h)

Rockin’ Ronnie – A shortcut blocked off with trees (TB, JB, CR, JC, ID + 1 = 1/2 h)

Sat. Aug. 10

The North-West corner of the Petersburg Forest – The connection from the Multi-Purpose lap to the Hydro corridor cleared from two fallen trees and overgrown vegetation (CD, CR, PS, TB, MT, ID x 1h)

Dead Camel Bend – The shortcut to the Hydro corridor blocked off with tree trunks and debris (CD, CR, PS, TB, MT, ID x 1h)

Snyder’s Trailhead – Trail counter relocation (MM x 3h)

Thu. Aug. 8

The Bride – Wheelbarrowing the gravel from the gate at the end of the Stinky Girl Boardwalk to the mud holes between the bridge with hand rails and the old car (RH x 5h)

Rocky Mountain / Back 40 – Cutting back the overgrown weeds (RH x 1h)

Rockin’ Ronnie (the end) – Installing a sign post and a sign to mark the wrong direction for the newly opened gate (RO, ID x 1h)

Wed. Aug. 7

The three kiosks – Installing new signs (RO, ID x 3h)

The Multi-Purose Trail – Installing three sign post and signs to mark the recently created connection to the Hydro corridor (RO, ID x 1h)

Mon. Aug. 5

The Bride – Wheelbarrowing the gravel from the gate at the end of the Stinky Girl Boardwalk to the mud holes at the old car (MB, ID x 4h)

Sun. Aug. 4

The Bride (the end) – Moving 4 truckloads of gravel from the Hydro access road to the intersection hub (SB, ID x 2h).

The Bride (the end) – Wheelbarrowing gravel from the intersection hub to fill all the mud holes from the end of The Bride to the old car (ML, ML, ID + 2  x 2h)

Sun. Jul. 28

Stinky Girl – Cutting the overgrown grass (CD, + 3  x 1.25h)

Thu. Jul 25.

Adam’s Run – Leaning tree cut and removed (CD, ID x 1h)

Bootleg Trail – 4 fallen pines cut and removed from the trail (CD, ID, RO x .5 h)

Tue. Jul. 23

Glasgow Side – Storm cleanup (CD, CK, MB, RO, SC, DB + 4 x 3.5h)

The Two Trailheads – Collecting trail counter data and performing maintenance (MM x 2h)

Mon. Jul. 22

Snyder’s Side – Storm cleanup (CD, CK, SS, RO, RD, PS, ID + 4 x 4h)

Glasgow Side – Storm cleanup (BA, SA, SC, JC + 6 x 3h)

Sun. Jul 21

Creepy / Jessica / Kamikaze / Bootleg / Sweet Street – Storm cleanup (CK, CD + 1 x 3h)

The Pines – Storm cleanup (CK + 5 x 1.5h)

Fri. Jul. 19

Stinky Girl – Storm cleanup (RO x 2.5h)

Thu. Jul. 11

Multi-Purpose Trail / Adam’s Run / Sweet Stret / Twister – Clearing 6 fallen trees (CD x 2h)

Wed. Jul. 10

Stinky Girl – Clearing the raspberry bushes (CD x 2h)

Sun. Jul. 7

Stinky Girl (after the old hydro opening) – Some gravel filling and drainage work (CK, CD, + 2 x 2.25h)

Glasgow Parking – Parking lot reconstruction (M x 4h)

Glasgow Trailhead – Trail counter relocation (MM x 2h)

Sat. Jul. 6

Frankenstein / Stinky Girl / Bride – Trail Day: building the mesh-wire retainer wall, installing the protective edge, wheelbarrowing gravel for filling the raised path through the flood prone section, filling mud holes with gravel (CK, CD, GJ. MB, SZ, CB, BA, CT, KB, CN, JS, MP, TB, JR, DJ, SC, SG, JG, AW, AW, ID + 2 x 4h)

Rockin’ Ronnie – Building a small wooden bridge over a wet spot (GJ x 2h)

Andy’s BBQ Run – King Street Cycles BBQ lunch for the volunteers (LL, AC x 2h)

Fri. Jul 5

Frankenstein – Preparation for the Trail Day (CD x 5h)

Thu. Jul. 4

Glasgow Parking – Parking lot reconstruction (M x 8h)

Frankenstein – Rock delivery and other preparation for the Trail Day (CD x 4.5h)

Wed. Jul 3

Glasgow Parking – Parking lot reconstruction (M x 8h)

Tue. Jul. 2

Glasgow Parking – Planning the new gate (CD, DB, ID x .5h)

Sun. Jun. 23

Frankenstein – Prep work for the Trail Day project; Pounding in the T-bars for the retaining wall (CD, + 1 x4)

The Two Trailheads – Collecting trail counter data and performing maintenance (MM x 2h)

Wed. Jun 19

Bride – Removing sticks that someone put in the mud holes (AH x .25h)

Tue. Jun. 18

Stinky Girl – Fallen tree removed from the trails (CD x .5h)

Mon. Jun. 10

Frankenstein – Prep work for the Trail Day project; gathering 13 T-bars for the retaining wall (CD, + 1 x3)

Sat. Jun. 8

Frankenstein – Prep work; flattening the area to be worked on the next Trail Day (CD + 1 x 3h)

Mon. June 4

Stinky Girl – The old bridge across the gully creek replaced wit a new one, the creek’s eroding shores reinforced with logs and big rocks, the approach berm rebuilt for the new line to the bridge, and a new berm built in the turn after the bridge (CK, CD, GJ, PS, AH. QR, RT, ID + 2 x 3.5h)

Tue. May 28

Rockin’ Ronnie – The Pointer Sisters Rock scraped with wire brush to remove the someone painted the rock with (ID x 1h)

Rockin’ Ronnie – The shortcut after the last hill cut of with a trench and blocked with planting bushes (ID x 1h)

Mon. May 20

The Bride (after the bridge with handrails) – Large fallen tree cut with a two-man-saw and removed from the trail (CK, ID x 1.5h)

Stinky Girl – Large fallen tree modified into a obstacle feature (CK, ID x 1.5h)

Sun. May 19

Frankenstein – Repair of the rock-step feature near the end of the trail (DC, MM, ID x 1h)

Tue. May 15

Scrambler – Fallen tree cleared off the trail (AH x .5h)

Mon. May 13

Frankenstein (the end) – The trail sign relocated to the location of the newly created trail exit (DB, Ro, ID x 1.5h)

Frankenstein (the South-West corner) – The shortcut from the pond to the trail exit covered op and blocked off with large fallen trees and debris (DB, Ro, ID x 2h)

The Two Trailheads – Collecting trail counter data and performing maintenance (MM x 2h)

Sun. May 12

Kaitlyn’s Switchbacks / Back 40 – Boardwalk sections placed on stone footing, bolted together, ramps to/off them built, and leading and out lines changed for better alignment and flow (CD, GJ, CK, ID x 4h)

Fri. May 10

Stinky Girl – Changing a broken board in the long boardwalk (GJ, RO x 1.5h)

Frankenstein – Assessing the quality of the two rock step features at the end of the trail (GJ, RO x 1h)

Mon. May. 6

Frankenstein (the end) – Modification of the the rock feature for controlling the traffic direction (DB, CD, CK, RO, ID +1 x 4h)

Stinky Girl – Boardwalk runout erosion repaired, and a wet spot filled near the end of the trail with gravel (DB x 1.25h)

Sat. May 04

Frankenstein – Culvert installed in a wet spott bellow the James rock (ID x 5h)

Mon. Apr. 29

Stinky Girl (near the beginning) Back 40 (middle) – 3 deadfall trees cut and cleared (DB x 2h)

Dead Camel Bend / Twister – Trail changes planned (RO, ID x 3h)

Sat. Apr. 27

Kaitlyn’s Switchbacks / Stinky Girl / Frankenstein / Bypass / Double Bypass / Rocky Mountain / Back 40 / Andy’s BBQ Run – Fallen trees and debris saw-cut and cleared from the trails (DW, TB, PS, CD, NO, CG, ID + 2 x 5.5h)

Thu. Apr. 25

Kaitlyn’s Switchbacks / Rockin’ Ronnie –  Fallen trees and debris saw-cut and cleared from the trails (RO x 2.25h)

The Two Trailheads – Collecting trail counter data and performing maintenance (MM x 2h)

Wed. Apr. 24

Sweet Street / Jake’s Attack / Jake’s Breakaway / Dead Camel Bend / Twister Jessica  – 27+ Fallen trees and debris saw-cut and cleared from the trails (GJ, CD, RO, MT, CG, SM, SW, JB, ID, +1 x 4.25h)

Mon. Apr. 22

Creepy Corner / Bootleg Trail / Monkey Boy / Scrambler – 17 huge fallen trunks cut and removed, and two log piles created (CD, DB, CK, MM, JS, ID + 1 x 4h)

Sun. Apr. 21

Stinky Girl / Frankenstein / The Bride / Andy’s BBQ Run / Rockin’ Ronnie – Assessing the ice storm damage and removing deadfall (ID x 4)

Sat. Apr. 20

Trail Day (ID, CK, CD, PK, MT, MB, SC, BR, MC, SF, BC, RT, GC, MJ, AH, BA, LJ, EB, SM, SW + 10 x 4h)

Jessica – Closing the shortcut from the upper to the lower multi-purpose trail

Adam’s Run – Changing and adding more trail in the middle part of the trail

Dead Camel Bend (the end) – Making a proper passage from the multi-purpose trail to the hydro corridor and adjusting the Dead Camel Bend to allow room for the passage

Multi-Purpose Trail (near the entrance) – The washed out culvert rebuilt

Snyder’s Parking – Lunch for the volunteers prepared by King Street Cycles (LL, AC x 2h)

Fri. Apr. 19

Adam’s Run – Clearing the new trail to be opened on the upcoming Trail Day (ID x 2.5h)

Thu. Apr. 18

Both tool sheds – 4 log carriers moved from Landfill to Pines shed  and removal of deadfall/branches along trails in/out (DB x 1.25h)

Wed. Apr. 17

Adam’s Run – Bench cutting into a slope on the new trail to be opened on the upcoming Trail Day and building a new rock ramp (JK, CD, AH, ID x 3h)

Tue. Apr. 16

Adam’s Run – Clearing the new trail to be opened on the upcoming Trail Day (RO x 2.5h)

Mon. Apr. 15

Adam’s Run – Clearing the new trail to be opened on the upcoming Trail Day (RT, CR, ID x 3h)

Sun. Apr. 14

Creepy Corner / Bootleg / Kamikaze / Twister – Storm cleanup; 17 fallen trees removed (AH x 5h)

Wed. Apr. 10

Adam’s Run – Clearing the new trail to be opened on the upcoming Trail Day (ID x 3h)

Mon. Apr. 8

Adam’s Run – Removing big logs with a two-man-saw to clear the trail to be opened on the upcoming Trail Day (RO, ID x 2.5h)

Sat. Apr. 6

Frankenstein – The last bend in the trail changed for a better flow and the rock drop-off at the old exit modified (CD, SK, ID x 3.5 h)

Stinky Girl – 29 maple tree saplings transplanted from the new trail opening in the Frankenstein to the old hydro opening in the Stinky Girl (ID x 2.5h)

Sun. Mar. 31

Kaitlyn’s Switchbacks / Back 40 – 5 bridge sections delivered from the trail head to their spots on the trails (MM, CD, DC, ID x3)

Fri. Mar. 29

Kaitlyn’s Switchbacks – 5 bridges picked up with a crane truck and delivered to the trailhead (JM, ID +2)

Mon. Feb. 18

Stinky Girl (lower part) – Huge fallen trunk cut with a two man saw (MS, ID x 2.5h)

Sun. Feb. 3

The Bride – Trail layout changes planned (GJ, SS, CD, DB, CK, ID x 3h)

Sat. Jan. 19

Jessica / Twister – 4 fallen trees removed from the trail (AH, BS x 2.5h)

Sun. Jan. 13

Frankenstein / Bride – Trail layout changes planned and marked out (ID x 6h)

Wed. Jan. 2

Bride (descent before the first bridge) – Two man saw to remove large tree across the trail (DB, JN x 1.75h)

Double Bypass (after the first left corner in the woods) – removal of multiple trunks and branches fallen across trail (DB, JN x .5h)

Comments are closed.